DC 2018 General Election








S. 1278

Senator Carper (D-DE) introduced S. 1278, the “Washington, D.C. Admission Act.” It’s counterpart in the House, H.R. 1291, was introduced by Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC). Click here to read more.

Mayor Muriel Bowser

Mayor Muriel Bowser

Mayor, District of Columbia

Muriel Bowser serves as Washington, DC’s seventh elected Mayor.  Sworn in on January 2, 2015, she pledged to bring a fresh start to the District of Columbia, create pathways to the middle class for residents, and foster a culture of inclusion, transparency and action. Click here to read more.


2016 DC Statehood Referendum Results

Boundary of the State of Washington, D.C. & the District of Columbia

Check out exactly how the federal District would be shrunk in accordance with the 2016 statehood advisory referendum (in addition to H.R. 1293 and S. 1278) and discover the boundaries of the proposed 51st State. Click here to read more.

Sen. Michael Brown

Sen. Michael Brown

United States Senator, District of Columbia

Senator Michael Brown was first elected as a Shadow Senator for Washington, D.C. in 2006 and reelected in 2012. He was born in New Jersey in 1953 and moved to the District in 1984. Identifying as an independent, Brown advocates for D.C. statehood in both the Council of the District of Columbia as well as the United States Senate.

Miss D.C. crowned Miss USA 2017

For the second year in a row, Miss District of Columbia was crowned Miss USA. This year’s winner, Kára McCullough, was in Naples, Italy and currently works as a scientist at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Click here to read more.

H.R. 1291

Delegate Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) introduced H.R. 1291, the “Washington, D.C. Admission Act,” on March 1, 2017 and already has a record number of co-sponsors! Click here to read more.

Pod Save... D.C.?

“If t stumble into control of the House, Senate, and Presidency in the near term or in my lifetime, the first thing I would do is I would give to ” -D on C‘s @ 44:30. Click here to hear more.

The Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organization (UNPO)

The Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organization (UNPO) is an international, nonviolent, and democratic membership organisation. Its members are indigenous peoples, minorities, and unrecognised or occupied territories who have joined together to protect and promote their human and cultural rights, to preserve their environments, and to find nonviolent solutions to conflicts which affect them. Click here to read more.

Stanley Cup & Statehood

“Rep. Dina Titus, D-Nev., donned a T-shirt emblazoned with a D.C. statehood slogan to honor her loss in the bet with Eleanor Holmes Norton, the district’s non-voting delegate to the House of Representatives.”

For A Better Government, Republicans Say Move Parts Of It Out Of D.C.

“Congressional Republicans call it a simple way to bring down costs and diversify the federal workforce. Democrats decry it as a time-wasting attack on the nation’s capital and the region around it.” Click here to read more.

Puerto Rico Statehood Vote on June 12th

“The nonbinding plebiscite in the island of 3.4 million people presents three options: statehood, independence or a continuation of its current status as a territory.” Click here to read more.


What does D.C. lack?

Voting Equality
Legislative & Budget Autonomy

Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton

Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton

United States Delegate, District of Columbia

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, now in her fourteenth term as the Congresswoman for the District of Columbia, is the Ranking Member of the House Subcommittee on Highways and Transit. She serves on two committees: the Committee on Oversight and Government Reform and the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure. Click here to read more.

DC Population

What is the New Columbia Statehood Commission?

In 2014, the Council of the District of Columbia created the New Columbia Statehood Commission to coordinate the District’s statehood initiatives. The Commission is an independent agency within DC government providing support to the Statehood Congressional Delegation in promoting statehood and voting rights to the District. The Commission is comprised of Mayor Muriel Bowser, Council Chairman Phil Mendelson, Senators Paul Strauss and Michael D. Brown, and Representative Franklin Garcia. Click here to read more.

Sen. Paul Strauss

Sen. Paul Strauss

United States Senator, District of Columbia

Paul Strauss has been a resident of the District of Columbia since 1982 and is currently serving his fourth term as United States Senator from the District of Columbia. As a non-voting representative to the US Senate, Strauss advocates at the US Senate and the US House of Representatives on behalf of the citizens of DC in their attempt to gain full Federal representation, self-determination, and eventually admittance to the union as the nation’s 51st state.

EU Greets Vice President Pence With 51-Star American Flag

“Vice President Mike Pence walked on stage to a European Union summit in Brussels to a backdrop featuring a version of the US flag with 51 stars, instead of the traditional 50. The flag featured three rows of nine stars and three rows of eight stars, instead of the usual layout of nine rows that alternate between six and five stars.” Click here to read more.


2017 Puerto Rico Statehood Referendum Results

Rep. Franklin Garcia

Rep. Franklin Garcia

United States Representative, District of Columbia

Franklin Garcia was elected US Representative (Shadow) for the District of Columbia on November 4, 2014.  He is working to bring full democracy to more than 650,000 people in our nation’s capital by helping make the District of Columbia the 51st State in the union.  He is part of a Statehood Congressional Delegation that includes two Senators and one US Representative. Click here to read more.

The Constitution of the State of Washington, D.C.

86% of Washington, D.C. residents voted in favor of a new statehood constitution written by the New Columbia Statehood Commission and ratified at the New Columbia Statehood Constitutional Convention in 2016.

Chairman Mendelson

Chairman Mendelson

Council Chairman, District of Columbia

Phil Mendelson was first elected to the Council in November 1998 as an At-Large Councilmember.  He served the District in that role until June 2012 when, following the resignation of the previous Council Chairman, Phil was selected by his colleagues to take over that role.  In November 2012 and 2014, District voters elected and re-elected Phil as Chairman of the Council. Click here to read more.